Glow of His Love and Grace

A few years back I went to see a Professional Career Consultant.  In that meeting the older gentleman assesses me and my skill set.  I go through all of the traditional interview questions first.  What followed next was more of a psychological evaluational. He told me to talk about myself and to not go through my resume.  So I do and after awhile he asked about my family.  So I started to talk about my wife and kids.  I described them all and tried my best to give him a glimpse of their personalities.  In a way I guess I was trying to show why they are special to me.   After I finished talking he looked right at me and said “did you know that when you talked about your family that your face would just light up?”

Matthew 6:21-23

21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. 22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are healthy,[a] your whole body will be full of light. 23But if your eyes are unhealthy,[b] your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!

That glow this man saw on my face was from the love for my family.  We all light up for certain things that are important to us.  Most of the time it is family or it can be a career or even a favorite meal.  Usually we are so excited that our emotions or true feelings can not be hidden.  These things that are in our hearts are indeed our treasures.  But my hope is that when I talk about Jesus Christ is that my light shines even brighter.  Don’t get me wrong I love my family with all my heart but no one has done as much for me as Jesus Christ.  All that He has done, He did without holding anything over my head or holding back all of His love as ransom.  If it was not for Jesus Christ I would not have a family.  Without Him there would not be a me.  The mere thought of what is causing my lungs to fill with air or how did I know how to breath when I was born amazes me.  Yes, doctors will give some dna answer but couldn’t tell me how does dna know.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is so all encompassing and we never think twice about it.  When we think of the gospel, we naturally cut out the parts about sin and repentance.  We go straight to God‘s love and salvation as well as heaven.  We never let the fact that we are born sinners sink in nor that fact that we were children of wrath.  We love to say God loves the sinner but hates the sin, and that is not even in the bible because Gandhi said it and he wasn’t a Christian.

Romans 1:18 The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of people, who suppress the truth by their wickedness, 19 since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. 20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.

Knowing that the wrath of God was and is justly against the wicked sinners who are not in Christ are saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ should fill hearts with genuine love.  Knowing that Christ died for us to save us and we not only didn’t ask Him to but couldn’t.  When we mention His name our faces should glow of His love and grace.  Because we are salt and light, we are the bride waiting on the bridegroom with our lamps ready at all times.

Matthew 5:13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Comments
2 Responses to “Glow of His Love and Grace”
  1. Pharme218 says:

    Hello! gfddbdg interesting gfddbdg site!

    Like

Leave a comment