Break Bread

When I was younger I use to wonder why the older preachers would mention the cross so much.  I found it strange that they would revisit the cross like that.  As I got more “educated”, I thought it was ridiculous to tell people what they already knew.  Even though I thought myself to be a Christian; I was merely religious and nothing more. Thinking back, I was so limited in my understanding yet I found reason and right to question those who actually studied.

2 Peter 3

1 Dear friends, this is now my second letter to you. I have written both of them as reminders to stimulate you to wholesome thinking. 2 I want you to recall the words spoken in the past by the holy prophets and the command given by our Lord and Savior through your apostles.

3 Above all, you must understand that in the last days scoffers will come, scoffing and following their own evil desires.

1 Corinthians 3

1 Brothers and sisters, I could not address you as people who live by the Spirit but as people who are still worldly—mere infants in Christ2 I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. 3 You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere humans?

I had just enough understanding to be dangerous.   I found it silly and a waste of time to repeat the “gospel message” as I understood it.  See, at the time I didn’t really know the gospel and some still don’t.  It took an Isaiah moment for me to get it. No one seeks and no one understands, until he touches you.  I was happy with just believing that Jesus is the son of God and He died for me.  That’s not so bad but it lived in my head and not in my heart.  My mouth was on repeat and my body acted out what I saw.  I did good things and stayed away from difficult situations.  I played life safe, making no waves thinking I was Christian.  I was raised to “do”, not taught to love but make it over.  Taught to give God thanks, I learnt the law.  I was a gentile made a jew, without knowing it.  A zealot to my core tearing down everything.  But I was met on my Damascus road of pride and got crushed.  In the year my pride died I saw the LORD seated on a throne and His presence filled the room with His glory.  I felt ashamed and dirty but He saw my grief all over my face so He loved me.  All that I had asteemed failed me.    At the table He fed me the word, even the vegetables.  Sometimes I was force fed intravenously because I could not swallow nor chew.  Teeth rotten from candy blessings.  Eventually I stopped picking over food I didn’t like.  If it didn’t look right I wouldn’t eat it.  But I learned that all of it was good for growth.  Since I didn’t want to stay a baby I knew I had to get off milk.  I wanted to follow Him but where He went I couldn’t crawl.

Hebrews 5

11 We have much to say about this, but it is hard to make it clear to you because you no longer try to understand. 12 In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! 13 Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness.

The more I ate the more I saw how the word complimented each other and not contradict.  I saw how it related like certain wines with different meats.  He was filling me and now I want to share.  But who will sit at my table?  It’s old made out of wood, rugged with splitters but its strong holding a lot of food.  My chairs are not cushioned and are hard to sit on for long periods.  They don’t recline and are not custom made to fit your contours.  Its all that I have and I took it as it is because it was a gift.  I didn’t try to rehab it or restore it cause it wasn’t broken.  Some would be ashamed to eat off this table and want to cover it.  It appearance and ruggedness is preicisous to me.  The bread or meal on it suits it nicely.  My plates and cups are humble, they do not boast and some tell me I should want more but all of this costed me nothing.  How can I beat free?  So I break beard with whoever can get pass their selves and look to gift pass the offense.

Comments
One Response to “Break Bread”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my previous post, “Break Bread” I recalled when I replied like the dirt dauber when it came to the gospel.  Sometimes we […]

    Like



Leave a comment