Underrated Preacher

Luke 18:15 And they were bringing even their babies to Him so that He would touch them, but when the disciples saw it, they began rebuking them. 16 But Jesus called for them, saying, “Permit the children to come to Me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 17 Truly I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it at all.”

The family is the most underrated preacher in the world. It ministers the gospel in a way that is raw an uncut if you are walking in the spirit.  I don’t buy my daughter toys everyday. I don’t always let her have her way. Sometimes she gets mad at me when I scold her. Yet, she seeks me out. When she waits to be with me she will take it however she can get time with her father. Sometimes she just simply wants to be in the same room with me. She does this because I love her. She wasn’t born loving me but she saw that I loved her first. I don’t have to buy her attention and passion to be in my presence but she gets joy from it. That joy is worth more than any doll that brings the passing feelings of happiness. One night she wanted to spend time with me but I worked late. When I got home there was no time to play a game but she was content to just sit next to me while I ate dinner. I have her a kiss and she went to bed feeling complete. Am I some great father? No, I just simply love her by loving God more. The more I love God, the more He dwells in me and it is His spirit that loves on her.

But this is the main point, right now my daughter is teaching me how to be a Christian. She just preached the most honest sermon on what “seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you” really means and how it looks. We lose this the more we get, the more responsibility we have, the more control we think we have. Men wanting to be the boss and women shouting independence. We don’t want to be under the Father’s roof because we think His rules are out to put chains on our freedom. But His rules are graces that sinful heart sees as a burden. We have the idea that we can be a better Master of the house. He calls us to be like children to save us from the chains we are desperately trying to shackle ourselves to. Now, can you hear yourself telling your kids, “stay a child as long as you can”. It’s hard trying to be God. The cross says the same thing, it’s the Gospel.

 

Francis Chan

Francis Chan

Leave a Reply

