Why I Do What I Do

I guess people wonder why I do what I do.  I guess they wonder why I post so much on facebook or why I post blogs so often.  I guess they wonder why I have some many twitter posts too.   It wouldn’t be an issue if it wasn’t for the content of my posts, status, blogging and tweets.  Some might say that I go to hard and should give it a rest.  Some would ask if I don’t have anything else I could talk about.  You may even go as far as to say that I should just stop because no one cares.  You could say that no one wants to hear that. You may even say that I need to give it a rest and save it for church.  You could call me a Jesus Freak or a fanatic, you might even attempt to call me “holier than thou”.  But “holier than thou”, I am not and very far from being perfect.  So why do I do what I do.  Why is all that I communicate is about Jesus Christ?  To be honest, my life isn’t that interesting.  There isn’t much going on in my personal world that deserves to be mentioned.  The one thing that is worthy of telling is Jesus Christ.

Think of it this way, I was a zombie the living dead.  I was walking this earth thinking that I was alive, living in “freedom”.  I lived for the world and went along with whatever the culture said was the thing to do.  I was a slave, tricked into  thinking that everything I did was of my own free will.  It was like being a functioning alcoholic.   I wasn’t looking for God and all I did was church, going through the motions of being a Christian.  I never knew what it was or meant to be one.  I just knew I didn’t want to go to hell.  But something started to happen to me.  And it is called the Gospel….

By God’s grace and mercy, He lead me to salvation and what it really meant to be saved.  The thought of a holy God deciding to remove my heart of stone and not because of anything I have done, it changed me.  I was handed a gift that cannot be bought no matter how many seeds I sow.  I was dead in my sins and heading to hell to face the wrath of God.  But for His glory he saved me.  Christ became sin for me and all of my sins are forever forgiven.

I understand that salvation may not be that important to you. I understand that eternal life is not on your “to do list“. Guess what? it wasn’t on mine either. The way it happened was like getting hit by a Mack truck from out of nowhere.

What’s crazy about it is that I didn’t deserve salvation but I did deserve hell. God was not obligated to regenerate me. He didn’t save me for me. He didn’t save me for any other reason than His glory. People say, “what kind of God is that?” My answer is, “A real God who can’t be bent to do my sinful will”. If the idea of a all powerful, faithful, holy, righteous, all seeing God who created all things is demanding worship, praise and glory bothers you; then walk away point blank. But don’t stand in my way.

We demand honor for father’s day and mother’s day which amounts to nothing compared to Christ. We can do what we do because of either his grace or long suffering for us.

If you have great parents then you would understand why I love Jesus times infinity. He has done and continue to do more than the best earthly father could dream.

Every time I move its because of Him. Jesus holds ALL THINGS together. I could have died on the sofa last night if he saw fit. I could lose my sight if he spoke it. He commands everything and nothing is out of his reach. Every time I walk its because of him, how can my mouth not be filled with praise? Oh because I think that it is my own efforts? Everything “I” have ever taken claim for is gone but everything he has given is still here. People worship themselves and say that they don’t need God because they want to be god controlling ever aspect of their lives. People can’t get with Jesus because he tears down our house of cards. He tells us that mud pie is not bread but he is the bread of life. The kicker is that Christ said that the world will hate the believer. He will effect everyone whether you believe or not. His word say that the cornerstone will be either a stone of stumbling or he will be precious to you. You can’t be lukewarm and you can’t tip toe around the cornerstone because Christ is to big. A mother can’t say she loves her baby and look at that child with loathing. God had reason to see us like that but loved us to much so he covers those who believe with Jesus’ redemptive blood.

The love of God teaches me how to be a good father. Every time I deal with my kids I’m reminded of my relationship with Him. I see my kids come to me with their doubts, short comings, mistakes, fears, needs and wants. I see how my questions for God come up in them. His holy spirit speaks to them in ways that answers my concerns or bear witness to His word. It makes my love him even more. How I discipline them in love and see a greater outcome than their finite minds can comprehend. I love Him because he is the best Father I ever had. For all the times I take life for granted and don’t take in the gloriousness as well as the beauty of His grace, I will tweet, facebook, blog, talk, walk and anything else to honor my Heavenly Father. So do want you will, say whatever you like because you just continue to make His words that more true.

All of this plus my calling to ministry, to preach Christ and His saving grace. I do this because I woke up from sleeping with pigs. I do this because I looked in the mirror. I do this because I saw the alternative. I saw life built on human wisdom, it didn’t add up. I saw it clear because he opened my eyes. I do this because he loved me when I hated me.

I don’t have self esteem issues because my life is no longer filled with me trying to validate myself against a changing world standard. I’m not trying to cope that’s what our idols do, Christ is not a idol he is God. You say I believe in words written by men, what man writes to condemn himself? What man can write away all his options and leave a Savior like Jesus? Salvation is my ultimate reason, its the Gospel! If I found a great deal on shoes or a great place to eat, you would want to know. But at judgment day, no one cares about that. You will look at the ministers and say why didn’t you warn me. God will ask the same question and hold all accountable. The most important sermon is the Gospel. Sermons about a better you are worthless if you don’t have Christ. When we speak of Him, He is lifted up and glorified. My purpose is his glory not my own. I answer to the one who can destroy the body and the spirit.

I do what I do for God’s glory.

2 Corinthians 5

The Ministry of Reconciliation

11Therefore, knowing(O) the fear of the Lord, we persuade others. But(P) what we are is known to God, and I hope it is known also to your conscience. 12(Q) We are not commending ourselves to you again but(R) giving you cause to boast about us, so that you may be able to answer those who boast about outward appearance and not about what is in the heart. 13For if we(S) are beside ourselves, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. 14For the love of Christ(T) controls us, because we have concluded this: that(U) one has died for all, therefore all have died; 15and he died for all,(V) that those who live might no longer live for themselves but(W)for him who for their sake died and was raised.

16From now on, therefore,(X) we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we once regarded Christ according to the flesh, we regard him thus no longer. 17Therefore, if anyone is(Y) in Christ, he is(Z) a new creation.[b](AA) The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 18All this is from God,(AB) who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us(AC) the ministry of reconciliation; 19that is, in Christ God was reconciling[c] the world to himself,(AD) not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us(AE) the message of reconciliation. 20Therefore,(AF) we are ambassadors for Christ,(AG) God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. 21(AH) For our sake he made him to be sin(AI) who knew no sin, so that in him we might become(AJ) the righteousness of God.

Comments
5 Responses to “Why I Do What I Do”
  1. Joseph says:

    You are blessed with the ability to get the words of your heart out… Something that I desire after.. The same words are in my heart, but I can’t express them so eloquently.. You are surely blessed. Thanks for sharing friend.

    Like

    • anointedplace says:

      Thank you for your comments and your prayers. I thank God for Him counting me worthy to use. I just want to be fruitful and knowing how you feel keeps me closer to God. What I say must be in agreement with the Word. Run to Christ and dont hold back the Holy Spirit. God is more important, speak truth wrapped in grace and delivered in love.

      Like

  2. Joseph says:

    This spoke so well in accordance to my own heart… I used it to express myself too. I know you don’t mind.. but I wanted to let ya know. One God, One Body, One Spirit… I am so in love with your soul. May the Lamb of God receive the reward of His suffering!!

    Like

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Why I Do Want I Do (anointedplace.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] Why I Do Want I Do (anointedplace.wordpress.com) […]

    Like



Leave a Reply

