Why You Asking?

Peace in Christ Jesus
Image by Loci Lenar via Flickr

John 7:16-19 NIV

16Jesus answered, “My teaching is not my own. It comes from him who sent me. 17If anyone chooses to do God‘s will, he will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own. 18He who speaks on his own does so to gain honor for himself, but he who works for the honor of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him. 19Has not Moses given you the law? Yet not one of you keeps the law. Why are you trying to kill me?”

Luke 6:46-49 NIV

46“Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say? 47I will show you what he is like who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice. 48He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built. 49But the one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. The moment the torrent struck that house, it collapsed and its destruction was complete.”

Commentary: The major issue in the life of a disciple is faithfulness. So Jesus issues a challenge in verse 46: “Why do you call me, `Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?” The rhetorical question raises the issue of faithfulness. A good heart is faithful, while a hypocritical one is not. Obedience is not a matter of rule keeping but of faithfulness. How can one recognize Jesus’ authority and call him Lord and then not follow through on the commitment to walk with him?

With this question Jesus turns to the issue of his authority. He is not formulating some ethic that we could follow independent of relationship to him. Having a relationship with him is at the base of faithfulness. This is why the parallel to this verse in Matthew 7:21 makes knowing him the key. Luke does not emphasize the end-time judgment as Matthew does, but for both consistency and faithfulness are central. Jesus says, If you wish to be wise, you will love as I have taught, follow me as Teacher and Lord, and walk in my way with faithfulness. The implication emerges more clearly in light of the parable that follows.

~InterVarsity Press

Have you ever heard someone ask or say “how do I know what God’s will is for me life?” or “why I can’t hear God speaking to me?” Here we see Jesus speaking about these types of people.  If you were to be honest with yourself; you already know where this is leading to.  I will pose this question, if you knew that someone will not complete a certain job on time or even do it at all would you even bother telling them about it?  Even on my job, I know that certain people in my office do not follow my instructions so I don’t bother.  There are times when talking with my kids, some things I don’t tell them to do unless I know that they have a willingness to do it.  So why do we ask God to show us His will for our lives or ask Him what it is that He has for us, when He already knows we will not do it?  It’s like when you really need something and you tell God, “if you do this one thing for me I promise I will do…”  God already knows that you have no intention on being faithful to the task or even do it.  There are times when we do shy away from offering ourselves completely to God because of the sin in our lives.  See we for get that Christ died for us while we were yet still sinners.  Its one thing to ask a to be hesitated because you desire to give God the best of you and asking with no intent to do what He will ask of you.  Some will never know what God wants of them because they do not recognize His voice because they don’t have a relationship with Him.  They do not delight in His word, they don’t study His word and they don’t love His word.  How can you love Jesus Christ who is the word made flesh (John 1:1-14) and have no desire to read the Holy Scripture?  So why are we asking when we either don’t know Jesus and if we don’t know Jesus we can’t know the Father or we have no desire to do God’s will anyway.  When we are more concerned about ourselves, when we are more concerned about loving ourselves it shows that our god is us and not the Lord.  A spirit like that will not submit itself to the Lordship of Christ.  A spirit like that is built on external things and is unstable because it depends on tangible things.  As soon as the storm come the truth is revealed in that person’s life, just like the wise and foolish builders.

But a person who truly desires to do the will of God is first honest about their sins.  He realizes that there is no good in him and that without God he is nothing.  This person is humble and broken.  For them, when God calls on them and justifies them, it is a honor.  When you finally see God and understand what He has done for you, then you are not just ready but begging to do the Father’s will.

Isaiah 6:5-8

5 “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”

6 Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. 7 With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments
One Response to “Why You Asking?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Why You Asking? (anointedplace.wordpress.com) […]

    Like



Leave a Reply

