Unity is Our Testament

JERUSALEM - APRIL 10:  A Christian pilgrim hol...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

Jesus Prays for All Believers

John 17 NIV

20“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: 23I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. 24“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world. 25“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

When we really think about the Christian community as a whole, we are talking about people from all over the world.  It was the unity of the church community that made such an impression upon the Roman Empire during the persecution of the believers.  To watch people stand together for their faith in the face of adversity speaks with such volume.  Nowadays the is such division amongst Christians from the basic issues to the very important doctrinal issues.  We seem divided and not unified so to the world we project the wrong image of God.  It’s largely due to the fact that some groups of Christians have stopped or compromised the teaching of the Gospel.  The cross has been made less offensive in order to please people.  When you do that you divide the Church and you change God into a servant of men’s pride.  Jesus prayed for unity so that “May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”
We must be honest about the doctrine we defend and be honest about the stances we take that cause such division within the body of Christ.  We must ask ourselves is it worth it, is it of God (rightly divide the Word) and is it “my” personal preference that I take this stance?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

