Already Satisfied

1280x1024_HD_wallpaper_110_zixpkcom

GOD deserves so much more from me, how I love him. But I’m not speaking from love but pride in me as Christ has already satisfied Him.  That may sound confusing in how I say that I love God and how he deserves the best of me.  You would not think that anything is wrong in my statement.   It sounds so humbling and dripping in love.  It would be if not for the truth God had spoken about me already.  What I said was sinful as it didn’t come from faith.   I’m talking about pleasing Him on my own when I cannot.   I’m speaking about matching up to his level of holiness when angels cannot.   I’m speaking of appeasing His wrath when I’m finite and his justice is infinite.   I’m saying that my goodness is enough to attempt to begin to seek him.   My piety smells of decaying flesh to a Holy God.  My self pity of falling short is not humility but self-righteousness.  It makes less of the Son of God and makes light of the cross.  It says that I can’t rest in the mercy and grace of God for justification because I don’t trust Jesus Christ sufficiency to atone for my sins thus reconciling me to the Father.  It says I do not believe in Jesus.

If you are always operating from a position of “how or what can I do to please God”; your faith and life will always be unstable.  You will never have life and have abundantly because you swimming up stream to achieve the impossible.

Hebrews 11:5-7

5 By faith Enoch was taken up so that he should not see death, and he was not found, because God had taken him. Now before he was taken he was commended as having pleased God. 6 And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. 7 By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, in reverent fear constructed an ark for the saving of his household. By this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness that comes by faith.

Who is the object of that faith? Jesus Christ!

Romans 5:1-2
1 Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we  have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Through him we have also obtained access by faith  into this grace in which we stand, and we  rejoice  in hope of the glory of God.

What is it that causes us to turn from the work of Christ and grab ahold of our own.  Why do we do it?  Does the thought of someone having to die for us offends us?  Does the fact that we can’t pay our own debt to God offends?  Does faith make us feel inferior because we have to turn away from vain human wisdom.   A sinful heart is a prideful one.   It always seeks for its own sake and push accountability onto others.  We can’t follow Christ, we can’t deny ourselves or even seek him because it goes against our sin nature.  Christianity is the only “religion” that does not cater to our egos.

Romans 8:7-9

7 For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. 8 Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

9 You, however, are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if in fact the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him.

This is not about making us feel guilty. Its about stop bringing Christ down to our level.  Its about recognizing Jesus Christ as the LORD GOD and not our Butler.

Comments
2 Responses to “Already Satisfied”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Already Satisfied (anointedplace.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like

  2. [...] Already Satisfied (anointedplace.wordpress.com) Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookEmailMorePrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

    Like



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,268 other followers

